

California Association of School Transportation Officials State Board Meeting

> *MINUTES* Sunday, February 26, 2023 8:48am Airport Marriott, Burbank, CA

## I. OPENING – President Matthew Thomas

- A. Presentation of Colors North-Sun Valley CA Color Guard of SoCal
- B. Pledge of Allegiance- Tony Peregrina

## C. Attendance-

1. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, <del>8</del>, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, <del>18</del>, 19, <del>20</del>

President, 1<sup>st</sup> VP, 2<sup>nd</sup> VP, Secretary, Treasurer, Past President, Professional Associate Rep., Contractor Rep., Sustaining Member Rep., -CASBO Rep., CDE Rep., Legislative Rep.

2. Verification of Eligibility - Mike Sawyer

1, 2, 3, 4, <del>5</del>, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, <del>17</del>, 18, 19, 20

- D. Introductions and Welcome Executive Board, State Board, Special Reps
- *E. Minutes of Prior Meetings* January 28, 2023 (M) Sam Anderson (S) Adriana Catledge (C)
- *F. Correspondence* Matthew Thomas- Gave a report on Tommy Thompson doing well and will be headed home soon.

#### II. Reports

*A. Treasurer* – Christina Celeste - Checking \$285,130.23, Savings \$30,795.96 total \$315,926.19.

## III. Business and Issues

#### A. Old Business

 Poster Contest- Jana Graham-TransTraks is the sponsor of our Poster Contest so I would like to introduce the Marvels and their daughter Jill Bender. The winner of the Poster Contest is Jaiden Sandoval, he is a 6<sup>th</sup> grade Special Needs student from Bryant Elementary in Stanton. He was joined by his mother, his grandmother, siblings and aunts and uncles.

# 2. CASTO Awards:

Retired Member of the Year- Amanda Hightman Official Member of the Year- Rick Weaver Associate Member of the Year-Lisa Nippolt Fred Sowash Leadership Award- Justin Gregori Arnita Moon Memorial Service Above Self Award- Donna Marvel

Matthew Thomas introduced Life Members and Past Presidents Al Sauvadon, Ron Kinney, Bob Wigginton, Nikki Hughes, Dano Rybar, Anna Borges, Greg Straw, Pam Mcdonald, Alexandra Robinson, Jennifer Hanshew, Tony Peregrina

#### B. New Business

#### 1. Installation of 2023-2024 Officers, Installed by Life Member Anna Borges

Past President- Matthew Thomas Prof./Associate Rep – Karen Knight Secretary- Jana Graham Treasurer- Christina Celeste 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President- Cindy Casarez 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President- Chrissie Stevenson President- Mike Sawyer

*IV.* ADJOURNMENT 9:53 am(M) Cindy Casarez (S) Nanette Rondeau (C)